Editing Your Life


“Edit your life frequently and ruthlessly. It’s your masterpiece after all.” – Nathan W. Morris




I’m thinking a lot about editing and revising lately. I’ve always thought of these in terms of the writing process, but now…. What is editing? Well, it involves looking at something closely, making changes, deleting, revising, modifying… Editing is painful at times, but the end result is generally well worth it. 

Maybe it’s time to start hitting the delete button! 

  • Attitudes and Behaviors. The truth is, stuff happens. Bad hair days, difficult people, disagreements with loved ones, car problems, empty bank accounts…”stuff” is part of life. We can’t control some of it. However, we can-and must-learn to control our reactions and our attitudes. Let’s delete negativity, unforgiveness, complaining, and self pity.  
  • Clothing. If an item doesn’t fit, delete. If it makes you feel too fat, too thin, ugly, or less than in any way, delete! 
  • Fears. We are told to “fear not” repeatedly in the Word of God. Maybe it’s time we start to heed that command. Hit delete on fear today, and choose to believe God’s Word. He’s a good Father.  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10
  • Wrong words. Note to self:  Stop. Just stop. “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14
  • Wrong thinking. Note to self: see aboveThis goes along with attitudes. I have to be very deliberate about not dwelling on negatives.  We really can choose our thoughts, but it takes effort and practice. “And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” Philippians 4:8. 
  • Clutter. Clutter makes me tired and less effective. Check out this post for tips on reducing clutter easily. 
  • Décor. I’ve become a big believer in surrounding yourself with only things that serve a purpose or make you happy.  My great grandmother, a precious woman, consistently gave me gifts I didn’t need, want, or like. I love her and I just learned to put her gifts in my classroom treasure chest or charity bag. Mama was not the dollar store figurines she gave me. Mama was a prayer warrior and servant hearted soul. Mama, I love and hold in my heart. Her gifts are long gone and I learned to separate the giver from the gift and ditch the guilt (along with the gift)!
  • People. Yikes, yes…people. I know that sounds harsh, but please hear me out. Take a peek at this post to see what I mean. 
  • Time sucks. Big sigh. I struggle with this, but I’m not giving up! I’m typing on one of my pet time sucks right now. Oh, iPad, how I enjoy you! 
  • Memories. This one has been such a process, but I’m choosing to focus on remembering the good with people and situations. Y’all, I’ve had people cheat on me, steal from me, lie to me, lie about me, and treat me unfairly. We all have our list of grievances, don’t we?  Dwelling on the negative serves no purpose and I am done with it. I’ve heard pastors call that unhealthy habit rehearsing the hurt. (Isn’t that good?!?) I don’t want to give mental real estate to unhappy, unproductive things any longer. So, I’m hitting the delete button once again. 

So, what do you think? How are you editing today? I’d love to hear your thoughts. As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page.

2 thoughts on “Editing Your Life

Leave a Reply

