Is Reading Important? 

“There is no such thing as a child who hates to read; there are only children who have not found the right book.” 

― Frank Serafini

I love to read.  As a child, I went with my mom ( a voracious reader) to the library every week. We would walk out with bags full of books. Imagine my dismay when I started teaching and discovered many of my children didn’t enjoy the written word. Cue the scream of horror. 

Fast forward 26 years.  I still have children who don’t like reading when I meet them, but I’m proud to say they rarely leave my room the same way. As I’m molding these lifelong learners, I’m helping my kiddos learn to think while they read, share their insights, questions, and aha moments, record their thinking, and fall in love with authors, book series, and genres. It’s a wonderful, wonderful thing. 

After 2+ decades of teaching all subjects to my 22 little scholars I am trying something new. Yikes! I’ll start my 27th year (Where did the years go?!?!) teaching reading to ALL second graders. Scary? Yes! Exciting? Absolutely! And how lucky am I?! I’m sharing my favorite subject-my passion-with almost 100 seven and eight year olds!! 

Naturally, a new-ish job requires extra expense. Hubby’s already balked a bit at my spending. Fortunately, a sweet coworker introduced me to Donors Choose. I’ve explained it to my family as a GoFundMe for educators. 

Would you consider donating to my precious second grade scholars? If so, please use the code LIFTOFF to have your gift matched. If that’s not possible at this time, would you consider sharing this blog post? 

Thank you for reading (and tolerating my infomercial). As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Wow! Fully funded in about 26 hours. Thank you, thank you, thank you! 




Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page.

Leave a Reply

