Waiting for Mr. Right

I encourage you to focus on becoming Miss Right instead of pouring your energy and time into finding Mr. Right. 

I am completely unqualified to give anyone advice on finding Mr. Right. I married very young. I was divorced very young. I’ve made some very poor decisions in my dating…. Maybe, just maybe my mistakes DO qualify me to share some things I’ve learned from my mistakes. After all, I am (finally) happily married.  My marriage isn’t perfect, but it’s good. God is so good, so merciful. 

  1.  Don’t wait. Don’t put off your life until you find Mr. Right. Throw the party. Go dancing. Travel. Take the art class. Buy a home. In other words, live your life. You never know where you’ll meet him. Meeting him, however, isn’t the point. Living your life, being who you are meant to be is the point. 
  2. Work on you. I know you have goals and dreams. Act on them. Do you want to learn a skill? Take the class. Need to tone up or drop a few pounds? Do it now. Spend more time in prayer. Hang out with your loved ones. Work on you. There will never be a better time. 
  3. Give it to God. Oh, I know, I know. However, the best thing you can do is give it to our Father. Lay it at His feet. He knows you. He loves you. He has good plans for you. You can trust Him with your dream of marriage 
  4. Be you. Be yourself. God made you in His image. You’re enough!! So, own it. Be yourself. Love camping or football or road trips? Hate camping or football or road trips? It doesn’t matter. Know that God has a man who will delight in you. You don’t have to do or be anything…when Mr. Right comes along, he will pursue you. You’re enough! 
  5. Journal. This is a sacred time in your life. Journal your thoughts, fears, and dreams. Journal what you sense the Lord is telling you. Go back and reread. Take care to record the blessings in your life. 
  6. Know your deal breakers. 
  7. Be open. When you are single, your time and decisions are yours. Be open to moving, to changing jobs, to volunteering, to learning new skills. Listen for His voice to guide you. 
  8. Cultivate healthy relationships. Spend time with people who love you unconditionally. Spend time with happily married people who can model behaviors for you. If your friends aren’t encouraging you, helping you grow….rethink the friendships.  
  9. Pray. This is a special time in your life. Hang out with God. 
  10. Don’t settle

Obviously, this isn’t an exhaustive list.  And I’m no expert….but I’ve seen God’s Hand at work. He. Is. Awesome. The best advice I can give anyone-about anything-is seek God. Spend time just sitting quietly, listening to Him. He will never fail you. 

Please share your advice in the comments. As always, I wish you MUCH joy on your journey. 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page.

Leave a Reply

