He Wants Our Hearts

“But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil. Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful. Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned: forgive, and ye shall be forgiven.” Luke 6:35-37

A few months back, I was mulling over ALL of the disturbing news one morning and feeling completely overwhelmed. Our world is in such chaos. The horror of it makes me want to withdraw, to hide, to pretend none of it is happening. 

But that’s not the way of God’s girls, is it? 

Finally, I turned to His Word. This was after TV, Facebook, Instagram, email, pinterest, texts…. Yeah, this God’s girl has her priorities a little messed up. Sigh. 

I felt pulled to Luke 6.  You need to know that most of the time when I feel like He’s nudging me to read a certain passage I’m completely wrong. Not today, though. I read it aloud. I don’t usually do that, but it was helpful today. I read and reread. The passage wasn’t new, of course, but it was needed. 

Luke 6 says a lot. A LOT. I pondered the many, many teaching points and I heard a soft voice deep inside of me, “I want your heart.” 

Huh?!? I thought He had my heart. 

So, I sat in silence, wrestling with this and slowly I understood I’d hardened my heart against people who hurt me again and again. I held back. Rightly so, I thought! Why would I open myself to that again?! I’d hardened my heart against the cruelty in the world. And I’d allowed my world to become smaller. Why keep loving and giving and hoping and praying when evil prevails? Sex trafficking, wars, terrorism, hate crimes….The world gets colder and meaner….

“I want your heart.”

I’m not sure how long I sat there, pondering, struggling, and ultimately surrendering. 

What’s important is I gave my heart back to God. I allowed Him to remove the crud that hardened it. Unforgiveness,  fear, and  bitterness were scraped away. 

People fail us daily. Crummy things happen to people we love. The world sinks deeper and deeper into depravity. The world IS a terrible place…it’s a lonely, bitter, scary, dark place for so many, BUT it shouldn’t be for God’s girls. We should  leave people and places better than we found them.  If we are courageous enough to follow God, life can be quite wonderful.  It won’t be easy or perfect, but it will be wonderful. 

God’s girls are called to be like Him. We need to shine His light. We need to BE that light. Deep breath.  We can do this. We will love the unlovely. We will forgive and turn the other cheek. We will ignore the slights and choose to love. We will daily seek the face of our God and go out and pray, serve, love, and forgive. We will offer encouragment and hope. We will reject the lies of the enemy. We will get back up after being knocked down.  We will make our corner of the world safer, stronger, kinder, more loving. We simply must. We will! 

We were put here for a reason. Someone needs to act like Jesus! Why not us? Someone needs to offer hope.  Why not us? Someone needs speak life, love, and truth when faced with death, hate,  and lies. Why not us? God’s calling His army to rise up. Let’s go. 

Let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glorify to your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

“Now by this we know that we know Him, if we keep His commandments. He who says, “I know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But whoever keeps His word, truly the love of God is perfected in him. By this we know that we are in Him. He who says he abides in Him ought himself also to walk just as He walked.Brethren I write no new commandment to you, but an old commandment which you have had from the beginning. The old commandment is the word which you heard from the beginning. Again, a new commandment I write to you, which thing is true in Him and in you, because the darkness is passing away, and the true light is already shining. He who says he is in the light, and hates his brother, is in darkness until now. He who loves his brother abides in the light, and there is no cause for stumbling in him. But he who hates his brother is in darkness and walks in darkness, and does not know where he is going, because the darkness has blinded his eyes.” 1 John 2:3-11

As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page.

One thought on “He Wants Our Hearts

Leave a Reply

