Scatter Kindness 

“I have always found that mercy bears richer fruits than strict justice.” Abraham Lincoln

“When I was young, I admired clever people. Now that I am old, I admire kind people.” Abraham Joshua Heschel

“Tenderness and kindness are not signs of weakness and despair, but manifestations of strength and resolution.”  Kahlil Gibran

Right??? The older I get, the more I value kindness. In my classroom, it’s incredibly important that we are all kind to one another. Nothing works well if even one of us is unkind. In my marriage, Hubby and I operate in kindness. Please and thank you are heard daily. Small acts of kindness abound and our marriage is a good one. In my relationships, I like to scatter kindness like confetti. Kindness can change your world. It can! It’s changed mine. Here are a few ideas to get you started on your journey. 

  1. Give a compliment. 
  2. Hear something nice? Tell the person! Better yet, tell their boss, their spouse, their child.  
  3. Take coffee or tea to your coworker. 
  4. Send a sweet email or text. 
  5. Thank your custodial staff, cafeteria staff, team, bosses, spouse, children parents …. Genuine gratitude and appreciation are pretty irresistible.
  6. Run an errand for someone.  
  7. Forget your mile long to-do list and technology and be in the moment with your people! (This one is for me!) 
  8. Put a card and candy bar on a coworker’s desk. Sign it or remain anonymous. Either way, you’re spreading kindness. 
  9. Let someone cut in line. 
  10. Shake off offense. Quickly
  11. Pray for someone. 
  12. Don’t play games or keep score. 
  13. Extend mercy and grace instead of judgment. 
  14. Forgive and forgive quickly. 
  15. Give a hug. 
  16. Give someone your full attention. 
  17. Swallow the complaint or criticism you want to voice. Resist the temptation. I know, I know. 
  18. Tell someone that Jesus loves them and they have a reason to go on.  
  19. Write your honey a love letter. 
  20. Put a sweet, silly note in your child’s lunch or backpack. 
  21. Send a care package to a soldier or an elderly relative or your adult child. 
  22. Rise above. 
  23. Love with everything in you. 
  24. Don’t worry about winning. Worry about improving. 
  25. Call out the brilliance, kindness, creativity you know is buried in someone. People believe what we tell them. Tell that difficult person how smart and kind they are. Eventually, they’ll believe it and you’ll see it. 

No, I cannot solve the world’s myriad problems. Can I do something? Of course I can! I can change MY corner of the world.  God’s girls can spread kindness and hope and encouragement. And we must. Our world needs us. 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page

One thought on “Scatter Kindness 

  1. Pingback: Resolutions Made Easy (Seriously!)  | muchjoytoyou

Leave a Reply

