If My Life Was a Movie

Not too long ago, I was in a funk. The reasons aren’t important. In fact, I  don’t even remember them.  Let that be a lesson to my future self: the things that irritate you so much today will most likely be forgotten in the near future. Big picture, Julie! Big picture! Anyway….I couldn’t shake the mood and, thankfully, I remembered reading something years ago. 

  • Imagine your life is a movie. Ok. Done!
  • It’s important you be the lead in your own movie. Hmmm. Okay. Done! 
  • This is the step that changed things for me. How would you want your character -the lead character – to act? Ohhhhhhhh.  I decided I wouldn’t want my character (wink, wink) to act like a sulky, whiny, defeated brat. Even though it sounds silly, that actually shifted things for me. I stopped acting like a whiny, sulky, defeated brat and started acting like the heroine. I began praying for the situations. (It honestly blows my mind that I can’t even remember what had me so tied up.) I started changing what I could change and getting over the junk I couldn’t.  And it worked!!! The funk was gone and my generally optimistic nature returned.  

Isn’t that something?!! I don’t know about you, but I sometimes need to stop and think about my thinking, my actions, my life. This little exercise really helped me. 

I’d love to hear about your struggles and victories. As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page

Leave a Reply

