What If???? (Part 2)

A few weeks ago I posted a discussion asking what things would be like if the church actually acted like followers of Christ , if I actually lived like I believed what I believe. You can read more here

I received some amazing feedback on the post, most of it privately. I think many of us are longing for authenticity. It’s time we let our light shine, isn’t it? 

If you read my first post you know I’m looking at my own life and my own walk as I set my course. I desire to “walk out” what I say I believe. And I’m asking myself some (more) questions. 

And you need to know I long for this, but I fall short every single day. I’m selfish, willful, and bratty. I’m also redeemed by the blood of Christ. It’s because of Him that I press on. 

  • What if I refused to fear?  We are told not to fear over and over and over again in His Word. I think God understands our natural inclination to worry and fear. Psalm 27:1 NIV “The LORD is my light and my salvation–whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid?”  Psalm 23:4 NIV “Even though I walk through the darkest valley,I will fear no evil, for you are with me.”  2 Timothy 1:7 NLT “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” John 14:27 NLT “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”  Isaiah 51:12 NLT “I, am the one who comforts you. So why are you afraid of mere humans, who wither like the grass and disappear?” Proverbs 29:25 NLT “Fearing people is a dangerous trap, but trusting the Lord means safety.”  
  • What if I read the Word, knew the Word, prayed the Word, spoke the Word? Hebrews 4:12  NAS “For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  Matthew 4:4 KJV “But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.”  Ephesians 6:17 KJV “And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God….”  2 Timothy 3:16-17 NIV  “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  Psalm 119:105 NIV “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”
  • What if I gave instead of took? Time, gifts, money, attention…everyone has something they can give. In other words, what if I sought to bless instead of be blessed? What if I sought to serve? Hebrews 6:10 “God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them.” Matthew 23:11 “The greatest among you will be your servant.” Luke 6:38  “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” Mark 10:45. “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” 1 Peter 4:10 “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” 

I’d love to keep this discussion going. Please feel free to comment. (Part 3 is coming soon.) As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Follow me

One thought on “What If???? (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: What If???? (Part 3) | muchjoytoyou

Leave a Reply

