Can I Be The One? 

It’s summer vacation, but I’ve been up to my campus a few times. I’ve attended a workshop.  I’m reading professionally. And it’s all good. School is such a big part of my life, of who I am…I don’t mind a little overlap on vacations. Naturally, my thoughts are starting to turn to August. 

One of the many things I love about my school is how we perceive our school and our jobs. We see working with children as a calling and a gift. We view each other as family and part of a team. We see our kids and their families as part of our family. And the thing I love most about my school is that we each earnestly desire to be “the one” for our kiddos. My school is special. Everyone-secretary, nurses, custodians, cafeteria workers, assistants, librarian, tutors, teachers….wants to be “the one” for our kids. “The one” is the person who goes above and beyond to reach a child, to break through whatever is going on and help the kiddo understand content or behaviors or, perhaps, himself better. It’s important. Everyone needs “the one” at some point. Many need several “ones” throughout their lives. 

So, this started me thinking about all aspects of life. You know that difficult family member? We all have one (or more), don’t we? Maybe I can be the one for him today. Maybe-just today-I can reach out in love and compassion, with zero judgment, forgetting all baggage.  Remember that rude driver? Well, I can be her one. I can let it go and say a quick prayer for her. Who knows what’s going on with her? You know that super grouchy retail employee? Perhaps I should be his one today. Perhaps I stay calm and polite, extending grace where it’s not necessarily deserved. 

How often do we not “deserve” the grace God extends to us?!?! 

Not long ago, I found this on Pinterest: 

“Don’t treat people the way they treat you. Treat people the way God treats you.” ~ Dave Willis

And I’ve been mulling it over ever since. 

God loves each of us unconditionally, without reservation or condemnation, with unlimited measures of grace, patience, forgiveness,and love. Maybe…just maybe it’s time we, as God’s girls, did the same for those in our path. 

I’d love to hear your thoughts. As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Got TWITTER? Tweet with me! @julielclarke

Enjoy INSTAGRAM? Me too! @julielclarke

Love PINTEREST? Who doesn’t? Find me! @jlbclarke

Use Facebook? Check out my page: https://www.facebook.com/Mychjoytoyou

Leave a Reply

