Dear Parents, Thank You!

Dear Parents, 

As the school year is winding down, I feel so many things–elated at the thought of some much-needed rest, saddened at the thought that my journey with your child has ended, incredibly proud of the accomplishments we’ve made, excited about my summer plans.  And I feel tired, so very tired. Can I get an “Amen!” from my fellow teachers? 

Before we hug goodbye, I need to say a few things. 

1.  Thank you!  Thank you  for sharing your child with me this year. Thank you for trusting me. Thank you for supporting me. Thank you for partnering with me. I am well aware of the precious, awesome gift that is your child. I tried to honor this incredible gift daily. I’m human and I failed some days, but I assure you I tried every day. 

2.  Even though our daily relationship is ending, my love and concern for your child are NOT. I’ve taught long enough to know what to expect every year. I’ll enjoy summer, but often find myself thinking of your child and wondering how he is. When school starts, I’ll search for his name on the third grade rosters. If you’ve moved, I’ll be sad, knowing I won’t see him in the halls. If he’s on a list, I’ll wonder if the third grade teacher knows how lucky she is. I’ll see your kiddo in the halls in August. Trust me, my babies and I will seek each other out as we grow comfortable with our new normal. I’ll miss him quite desperately as I learn about my new babies. As I see him smiling and laughing, I’ll reluctantly let go, but I’ll never stop caring. 

3.  I love it when you let me know how he’s doing. No matter how old he gets, he will always be one of my babies. Once mine, always mine.  So, please keep in touch. I’m one of your child’s biggest fans and I will always care about his struggles and triumphs. 

4.  If you want some tips on helping your child to be successful, please read this blog post.  

5. Have a wonderful summer! As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

One thought on “Dear Parents, Thank You!

Leave a Reply

