Just One

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” –Ephesians 4:32 (NIV)

As I look through my posts and drafts (future posts), I’m seeing a pattern. I love lists (grin) and, more importantly, I long for a world where we are kind to one another. I can’t be alone.

Would your world change if you committed one act of kindness today? I think it would. Let’s think about it. If you went out of your way to do good for your spouse, your child, your boss, your coworker, your child’s teacher, a neighbor…. 

  • Put an encouraging note in your kiddo’s backpack today. 
  • Write a sweet or steamy message on the bathroom mirror for your spouse to see when getting out of the shower. 
  • Take a cup of coffee to your coworker. Bonus points if it’s a difficult team member. 
  • Send a short text, email, or handwritten note to your child’s teacher, thanking or praising him for something specific. 
  • Take treats to the next meeting. 
  • Smile. Cmon, just smile as you drive, as you walk to your office, as you grocery shop. 
  • Thank the waitress, store clerk, receptionist. 
  • Leave a generous tip. 
  • Give someone a ride. 
  • Choose one of your spouse’s usual chores and do it for them. Bonus points if you don’t tell them you did it.
  • Hold your tongue. If it’s not necessary or encouraging, just stop. Close. Your. Mouth. I’m working on this one. 
  • Thank your pastor. 
  • Pick up the tab. 
  • Tell someone he is doing a great job. Better yet, tell him why. 
  • Forgive and forgive quickly. We all mess up. 
  • Leave a note of appreciation for your office’s custodial staff. 

What do you think? Join me!  Let’s start actively seeking ways to love on one another. This will honor our King, bless those around us, and make our own lives better. 

Feel free to share your ideas in the comments. As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 


3 thoughts on “Just One

  1. Great article; I am doing some of these already, but picking up a few of the others. The other day I thanked the janitor in the washrooms of a gas station. He was totally surprised. I love doing things like that. So, yes I am joining!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Resolutions Made Easy (Seriously!)  | muchjoytoyou

Leave a Reply

