Choices

Did you ever stop to consider that the decisions we make today determine what our tomorrows look like?  I’ve determined that, with God’s help, I will start seeing each today with tomorrow’s eyes. It won’t always be easy, but it will always be worth it. 

 Choosing to spend 15 minutes cleaning up my work area means I can start tomorrow fresh.

Choosing to have the salmon instead of the chicken fried steak, opting to walk this evening before plopping down on the sofa may well translate into weight loss and better overall health.

Determining to spend 20 minutes of face time with  my husband rather than playing games on my phone will bring us closer, benefitting our marriage and our entire family. Resolving to spend two hours tackling the closet (or garage or basement or . . .) this weekend before napping or  hitting the theater will make me feel calmer and more in control. 

 You see where I’m going. . . .  I’ve chosen the most obvious areas we all seem to work on year after year, largely without success. There have to be so many others — resolving to hold my tongue, turning the other cheek, seeking out an enemy to pray for him or do him a good turn, giving generously and without expecting anything in return, stopping to spend time with my friends instead of always saying next time . . . 

What are YOUR thoughts on this? What are areas you need to rethink? I’d love to hear them.

Disclaimer:  I DO plan to occasionally (rather than regularly) opt for the chicken fried steak and nap!

As always, I wish you MUCH joy! 

Leave a Reply

