Is Dairy Free for Me?

I was recently at a clinic, seeking treatment for sinus and ear infections. I ran into an old friend and she gave me a prescription. (Yes, I use and believe in essential oils. And, yes, I still see doctors and use western medications at times.) You can read about my experiences with essential oils here. If you’d like to try them for yourself, click here.

Best of all, I left the clinic with some advice. She asked if I ate a lot of dairy. I immediately said no. But, as we talked, we both realized I consumed a lot of dairy. A lot. God is good. I’d prayed before going in, asking him to give the person seeing me divine wisdom. He sure did.

Deep breath. I decided to go dairy free for two weeks. Although I didn’t drink much milk or eat yogurt, I was consuming quite a bit of dairy in the form of coffee creamer, cheese, butter, chocolate, bread, and so on. I immediately replaced my coffee creamer with a coconut milk creamer. I cut out ranch salad dressing (ouch). I cut butter (ouch). I cut cheese and chocolate (OUUUUUUCCCCHHHH!!). It’s early yet. I don’t know if this will be a permanent change, so I haven’t tried alternatives to cheese. I’ve read that’s the hardest thing to replace. But I did find a couple of yummy treats to satisfy my sweet tooth. I adore Lucy’s chocolate chip cookies. And my favorite treat is Enjoy Life’s CHOCO boom ricemilk crunch chocolate bar. I can’t snack on Cheez it’s, but I found a delicious alternative. I love garlic flavored World Peas.

And you know what? After five days, I’d lost five pounds. Yup. Didn’t see that one coming, but I was thrilled. I also noticed my skin seemed better, healthier. I glowed. I’m more mindful of what I’m eating, why I’m eating, and when I’m eating. I love that I’m eating less sugar overall and more non GMO foods. Both have been vague, pie in the sky goals.

Where is this going? I don’t know yet, but I know I’m enjoying the journey.

As always, I’d love to hear from you. Please share any of your dairy free recipes, links, or tips. Today (& always), I wish you much joy.

Leave a Reply

