Make 2015 Your BEST Year Yet (part 1)

Do you love beginnings? I do!! I relish the start of each school year, dreaming of my new students and the magic we will create. Not surprisingly, I do the same with each new calendar year. I adore Christmas, but I also adore clearing all the Christmas decor, stashing it away until next year. I love the cold, crisp mornings readymade for quiet introspection. I enjoy making resolutions. Yes, I’m one of those people!!

Here are some ideas for us this year:

1. Make a resolution. Or don’t. Or make several.

No one knows you and your life better than you, so do not allow this post, an article, or segment on GMA dictate what your life should look like.

Some are choosing one word for the upcoming year. Hope, Health, Courage….Love the idea, but it doesn’t work for me at this time.

It might be that you choose one passage of scripture to memorize and live out for the year. I rather love that idea. I’m sure of one resolution: practicing gratitude instead of complaining. I mentioned this in a previous post. This is something that has been on my radar for years! Oh my, it’s difficult, but it’s important for my health-my mental, spiritual, and physical health. As I’m learning to truly embrace this, I must surround myself with like-minded people and people who will hold me accountable if I spiral off into a full blown rant. And I’m clinging to two passages:

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (KJV), “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

Phillipians 2:14-16 (NIV), “Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life–in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.”

2. Say no. I KNOW your life is filled with endless obligations. I challenge you to find at least one thing you can say NO to in order to make your life a little nicer. For now, I’m saying no to chopping veggies. I know it sounds silly, but buying bagged salads and bagged veggies is a time saver and little blessing for me at this time. For now, the extra cost is worth it. For now, I’m saying no to joining a book club. I long to do it, but I know my limitations. Realistically, I can’t squeeze it in. I will do it later. I know those are two silly examples, but they are very real decisions I made, based on my life at the moment. A bigger NO is my refusal to stress out and make an idiot of myself over things I cannot control. I have a dear, dear friend who has suffered from myriad health problems and hospitalizations. One of her issues is diabetes. I’ve noticed she indulges in quite a few poor dietary choices. Hmmm. Well, I’ve taken her to task, offered advice, shamed her. I know… Nice friend, huh? Truthfully, it all came from my love, concern, and fear. Thankfully, she knows my heart and loves me. And thankfully, I’ve realized her battles are not mine. I cannot control her diet or her choices. I’ve tried-and failed miserably. I almost ruined our friendship. Deep sigh. So, I stopped. I still cringe at times, but I don’t say a word. I am saying no to destroying our relationship and I’m praying for the Lord to have mercy and help her change. What can YOU say no to at this particular moment in time?

3. Say yes. Say yes to something you’ve wanted, whether it’s trying that scary looking sushi, accepting that date, taking a night class, or taking a solo road trip. My YES is to accepting sincere offers of help. It took me YEARS to finally accept help from others. I thought I had to be perfect, to have everything under control. Oh my, WHAT was I thinking?!?! It was my mom’s heart attack in the last month of a school year several years ago that finally broke me. I really feared we’d lose her. I was packing up my room for the summer, making substitute plans, posting grades, getting end of the year gifts ready, reading up on cardiac diets, spending days at the hospital….I needed help. Ordinarily, I would’ve turned it all down but a very sweet, persistent friend wore my down. And I bless her to this day for teaching me that we need each other and it’s okay, in fact it’s HIS plan.

You know what you secretly long-and fear-to say a resounding YES to. Take a deep breath and say yes.

More next time! Be blessed!

2 thoughts on “Make 2015 Your BEST Year Yet (part 1)

  1. Such good advice! There really is something about a new year that makes positive change so appealing. I’m still working on the specifics of my goals/resolutions but love the tips you shared!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year…More or Less | muchjoytoyou

Leave a Reply

