Don’t Forget a Single Blessing! (Part 2)

You’ve opened the gifts, enjoyed the meal, and you may be bargain shopping, returning unwanted gifts, or contemplating taking down the tree. Whatever your day’s agenda, let’s not forget to bless our Father.

“O my soul, bless God. From head to toe, I’ll bless his holy name! O my soul, bless God, don’t forget a single blessing!” Psalm 103:1-2 (MSG)

Blessing God, thanking Him for the many, many blessings in our lives will only improve your life, your health, your relationships. It’s certainly done that-and more-for me.

5. Control your thought life.

Oh. My. Gosh. This may be the most important step of all. Have you read Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the Mind or Battlefield of the Mind devotional? If not, RUN to your bookstore or online site and get both! (See below to order her book.)

As I wrapped up the semester at school I was faced with a challenge. Giving assessments, posting grades, hosting parties, attending meetings …. It never fails that teachers are exhausted at the end of the term. BUT I also had to pack and move into a new classroom. Please understand, I adored my old classroom. I had tons of storage and I’d been quite happy there for about a decade. I loved my “neighbors” in the hall. And I was tired. It would’ve been easy to be upset, to whine and complain endlessly. Although I briefly indulged a time or two, I realized how important it was to NOT go there. I didn’t allow myself to whine about the move because (and this is key) I could not change things. Sooooo, every time I felt tempted to whine, I focused on the good stuff. I would have a NEW classroom. (A new wing had just been built.) I would be with my grade level team for the first time. I would have a view. It allowed me to clean, trash, and donate. As I write, I’ve packed and moved a few things in. The district has extra people helping our precious custodians clean, wax floors, and move our furniture and heaviest boxes. The move is still hanging over my head. I’ll move in New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day–and I’m okay with that. (The old Julie would NOT be okay with it. In fact, she’d gripe about it and ruin her Christmas!) Lesson learned: if you cannot change things, change the way you think about those things.

6. Some people don’t like you. Make your peace with that.

Joyce Meyer says, “Statistics say that 10% of all people won’t like us, so let’s enjoy the 90% who do and stop worrying about the 10% who don’t!” Easier said than done, but I’m getting there. I am done working my tail off to gain the approval of a few and ignoring the precious people God has blessed me with. Again, it boils down to your thought life. Focus on what you DO have instead of what you don’t have. Happiness follows.

7. Give!

What greater joy is there than that giving brings? Whether it’s a hug, smile, a gift of cash, or simply listening–give, and give often.

Have a bLeSsEd 2015!

To order Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the Mind: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/battlefield-of-the-mind-joyce-meyer/1100216246?ean=9780446691093
To learn more about Young Living Oils: https://www.youngliving.org/julielclarke

2 thoughts on “Don’t Forget a Single Blessing! (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

